The African Futures Institute is managed by a Board of Trustees made up of thirteen members. These are:

  1. Prof. Abdoulaye Bathily, Senegalese, Professor in History at Cheikh Anta Diop University, Dakar, Senegal.
  2. Prof. Alioune Sall, Senegalese, Sociologist, Executive Director, African Futures Institute, Cape Town, South Africa.
  3. Prof. Archie Mafeje, South African, Professor in Social Sciences, UNISA, Pretoria, South Africa.
  4. Mrs Betty Maina, Kenyan, Director, Policy Solutions, Nairobi, Kenya,
  5. Mrs Comfort Lamptey, Ghanaian, Lawyer, United Nations, New York.
  6. Dr. Eddy Maloka, South African, Executive Director, African Institute of South Africa (AISA , Pretoria, South Africa).
  7. Mr. Jacques Giri, French, Chairman, Societés et Développements, Paris, France.
  8. Prof. Luc Sindjoun, Cameroonian, Political Science lecturer, Yaoundé II University, Cameroon.
  9. Mrs Madeleine Mukamabano, Rwandese, Journalist, Radio France Internationale, Paris, France.
  10. Dr. Nansozi K. Muwanga, Ugandan national, Political Science Lecturer, Makerere University, Uganda,
  11. Prof. Samir Amin, Egyptian, Director, Third World Forum, Dakar, Sénégal.
  12. Mrs Sibongile Mkhabela, South African, Director, The Nelson Mandela Children's Fund, Johannesburg, South Africa.
  13. Amb. Vijay S. Makhan, Secretary of State, Port Louis, Republic of Mauritius.

The Board of Trustees held its first meeting on 17-18 June 2004 in Pretoria. A Bureau made up of the following three members was elected: Prof. Abdoulaye Bathily (Chairman), Mrs Betty Maïna (Vice-Chair), and Mr Alioune Sall (Board Secretary and Executive Director).